Summary of Advocacy Committee Meeting November 6, 2014

1. Call to order

Steve Arms called the meeting to order at 12 Noon CDT, Nov. 6, 2014. Attendance is recorded in Attachment 1.

2. Approval of minutes

Minutes of the September 4, 2014, and October 2, 2014, meeting were reviewed. Since there was not a quorum of members present, no vote was taken. Steve asked Carol to send out all minutes for email approval after this meeting.

Steve indicated that Advocacy members needed to think about who we can recruit for this committee. We continue to have trouble getting a quorum because of lack of member participation. Stephanie Drier has changed positions within her agency, but has permission to continue participating. Her new affiliation will be "lab" since she is no longer part of the accreditation program. Paula Hogg indicated that Stacie Metzler may want to join the committee. Steve will contact her as well as Marlene Moore to guage interest in continuing. Note: Stacie accepted the invitation to join the committee and Marlene Moore indicated that she would like to be left on the list of regular members. Attachment 1 has been modified to reflect these changes.

3. Newsletter

Jerry reported that all articles have been received except Stephanie's member spotlight. Jan is working on the layout. Lynn asked that in the future we ask the editors to send a confirmation to the authors that an article has been received.

4. Crystal City meeting - February 2015

The Crystal City meeting in February 2015 will be the 20th anniversary of NELAC I. Jerry asked the Advocacy committee to help plan the celebration activities.

The special anniversary session will be held Monday morning, February 2, 2015, from 10:00 am to 12 Noon. Members agreed that the session should include: past, present, and future, including awards, a session from 'storytellers' about how things were in the beginning, and the progress of national accreditation, and a session on the future of national accreditation.

We discussed having the awards scroll on a screen. Award categories suggested included:

- Person with the most job changes
- Lifetime achievement
- Pillar of the profession
- Emerging leader

- Exemplary meeting sponsor
- Award for Excellence for ABs
- Committee of the Year
- Committee chair award
- Champion for National accreditation
- Endurance awards

The proposed agenda will be:

- Scrolling awards
- The progress of national accreditation, remembering the events of the past 20 years versus what is like now with storytellers from differing perspectives. Four speakers at approximately 10 minutes each. Suggestions included:
 - Public private partnerships: Tom McAninch
 - State ABs: Ken Jackson
 - Commercial labs: Dave Speis, Bob Wyeth, Marlene Moore or Jack Farrell
 - EPA perspective: Lara Phelps, Ramona Trovato, or Jeanne Hankins
- Plans for the future: Strategic Plan Sharon Mertens

Jerry will try to find a list of those who attended NELAC I in order to prepare a list of names for the Endurance Awards.

5. California

Steve asked Lynn Bradley to share an update on the California program and her recent discussion with management. Lynn reported that Christine Sotelo will start participating in the NELAP AC calls. CA is trying to get ideas about how to address program issues going forward.

A conference call has been scheduled for November 13, to talk about what CA is planning to do with their program and where they want to go from here. TNI will participate to offer suggestions and encouragement.

6. PT position statement

Members briefly reviewed the PT position statement and suggested edits that had been offered by email. Steve will incorporate the edits and circulate again for review by email.

7. Other

Gary Ward reported that Oregon has a new law legalizing marijuana. All marijuana labs will be subject to TNI quality systems. Gary will write a newsletter article for the next edition.

8. Next meeting

The next meeting is Thursday, December 4, 2014, at 12 Noon CDT.

Attachment 1

	Name	Stakeholder	Present/Absent
		Group	
		`	
1.	Lara Phelps	EPA (Other)	Present
2.	Steve Arms	AB	Present
3.	Lynn Bradley	Other	Present
4.	Stephanie Drier	Lab	Absent
5.	Martina McGarvey	AB	Absent
6.	Stacie Metzler	Lab	
7.	Zonetta English	Lab	Present
8.	Marlene Moore	Other and NEFAP	Absent
9	Elizabeth Turner	Small Lab Advocate	Absent
10.	Gary Ward	AB	Present
11.	Michael Wichman	Lab	Absent
12.	Janice Willey	Federal	Absent
	Associate Members		
	Kirstin Daigle	Lab	Absent
	Judy Morgan	Lab	Absent
	Aurora Shields	Lab	Absent
	JoAnn Boyd	Lab and FAC	Absent
	Judy Duncan	Other	Absent
	Kenneth Jackson	Other	Absent
	Keith Chapman	Other	Absent
	Sharon Mertens	TNI Board Chair	Absent
	Staff		
	Jerry Parr	TNI ED	Present
	Carol Batterton	TNI PA	Present